By default, any components you add to programs will be locked until the day they are released.
But what if you want clients to be able to view these items in advance? No problem. You can easily turn off the content locking behavior by clicking the more menu in the upper right corner of the program component. Just disable "Content Locking", and clients will be able to view and complete items in advance.